The Browsy

Don’t think the irony of this comic escapes me. Here I am, blogging about a webcomic I promoted via email, Facebook and Twitter, and yet the comic is critical of the internet. What a hypocrite, right? Well, let me tell you why I drew this comic.

The other night I was on Goodreads.com, a site where you can rate all the books you’ve read and see what your friends have read and are reading, and I realized something: Someone could hop online, browse around, and (without ever reading a single one of my comics) find out everything about me. All the books I’ve read, all the movies I’ve seen, the TV shows I’ve watched, the music I listen to, all the people I know. And I put this stuff out there, and seem to enjoy doing it. But why? Why is there pleasure derived from organizing and categorizing everything? Sometimes I’ll sit down at my computer and organize my iTunes playlists for two hours. It seems like fun at the time, but when I’m done, my back hurts, and I’m not really in a great mood. Or a bad mood. I’m just kinda… there. And yet I’m drawn to this sort of thing. Yay, I just rated every book I’ve ever read! Whoopee! Why is it fun? Why do I do it?

And that’s what this strip is about. It was a reminder to myself that an hour living life is a million times better than an hour spent recording it.

5 responses to “The Browsy

  1. cool comic, you got mad rhyming skills, son.

    I’m surprised that you didn’t do something about the Binghamton shooting.

    I wonder if Jiverly Wong was trying to be the new Cho Seung Hui or Chai Soua Vang. Scary when you think of number of acts of mass murder in the USA committed by East Asians – they’re only 4.4% of the population. Dangerous!

  2. I was just going to leave something like “genius job” or something, but what i find in the comentaries? racism! man… just sad.

  3. Facts, just the facts, ma’am.

  4. F-ing brilliant!

    The irony is that people are still very sensitive towards “privacy”, but will will happily post everything about themselves on the ‘net via Facebook, blogs, and Twittering. Yet more proof that any given person’s favourite topic of discussion is him/herself.

  5. That comic was absolutely brilliant.

    There are a few reasons I believe most people use these kinds of technologies far too often.

    The first is just because it’s something to do. We’ve become used to having so many things right at our fingertips — what’s more accessible and instantly gratifying than the internet?

    The other reason, and this relates more to twitter than iTunes, is because with all this closed-off interactivity that is for the most part in complete solitude, we are in desperate need to feel connected with other people. The problem is that all of these forms of connectivity end up being empty talk. There’s a difference between communication and just talk for the sake of it.

    Remember back to before the internet, when we had a list of favorite movies or books, when did it come out? In conversation with friends, usually. Now, it’s on our facebook, our tweets, or whathaveyou. But, just like you’re saying, it leaves you feeling like there’s something missing because you haven’t really made a connection to the people you would want to.

    The last line of your blog sums it up perfectly.

Leave a comment