Daily Archives: August 30, 2022

I Left My Heart

I’ve posted a new comic every week for pretty much the last 20 years or so… except when I go on vacation. Last week I was in San Francisco, which is what this week’s new Dustinland comic is about. And as I say in the comic, there’s something nice about going on vacation as a parent. You can unabashedly partake in the most cliche tourist activities possible… which often actually wind up being a lot of fun, even if you feel like a dork at first.

But San Francisco really is a great place. If it weren’t for the incredibly high rents and real estate, and the very real threat of mega earthquakes, droughts, fires and other natural disasters, I just might want to move there. Great food, fun stuff to do, beautiful architecture, a relief from the brutal heat of NYC in late summer… not to mention the trolleys, sea lions, Alcatraz, Golden Gate bridge and park, the botanical garden, the museums etc… As you can see, I did a lot. And now I’m back and not necessarily rested, although perhaps mentally refreshed. My wallet on the other hand…