Kevin

As I say in this week’s Dustinland comic, my son really did ask me about “Kevin,” confusing it with heaven. I didn’t explain things to him in real life like I did in this comic though. Not yet. I’d rather have him naive and happy for now. Because once you know, you can never unknown, so why not let the innocence go on a little longer.

Not that it’s bad to know about these things. But hey, if it’s confusing/depressing to me, I don’t know how helpful it will be to him, or any little kid for that matter. But I do know that when you try to explain things to kids, sometimes it makes you realize how silly or weird a lot of these ideas and rituals actually are.

4 responses to “Kevin

  1. My son used to think that death was a temporary setback, just like in video games.

    • Yeah it’s hard not using sleep as a reference for them, because that just confuses them more, even though it’s kinda like sleep. THE BIG SLEEP. But it is definitely a setback. THE BIG SETBACK. That works too.

  2. I laughed at the panel of Dustin, Hitler, and Trump in hell. That was funny.

Leave a Reply

