Rated PG

After I told someone about this week’s Dustinland comic, they informed me that perhaps E.T. came out before the creation of the PG-13 rating. Which would make sense. When they only had G, PG and R, movies like E.T. fell into a weird place. How would you rate a movie with just a few slightly scary moments and a handful of curse words? PG or R? I’d go PG. With the addition of PG-13, I guess it would be a closer call. Even then I’m not sure what I’d rate it. All I know is that man, I did not expect anyone to say “penis breath” in such a family classic. Oh well, I guess kiddo will hear a lot worse in life. Maybe even from the old man…  “oh fuuuuuuudge.”

2 responses to “Rated PG

  1. If your son learns that Spielberg is overrated, it was worth it. Just please make him understand that it’s doubly true for George Lucas.

    • You’re probably right about that. Spielberg does have some pretty good stuff even though half of it is way dumbed down. I actually really liked his War of The Worlds and was surprised how violent it was.

Leave a Reply

