Pong Masters

In this week’s Dustinland comic I pretty much spell out my full opinion on the beer pong video game. this might be really old news that all the late night talk shows covered when they came out a year or two ago, but it’s new to me so hey, here’s a comic.

When I was in college and first started drawing Dustinland, I was pretty critical of Greek life. I bring this up because while beer pong is not exclusively a frat activity, it’s certainly close. Either way, I was known for being a sort of anti-frat/sorority voice on campus, which I guess was more or less true. Not that I wasn’t critical of many other things but I did enjoy using Greek life as a target, mostly for obvious reasons. But as I got older, I sort of slowed down on this sort of humor. I know some dudes who are ex frat boys and they’re pretty nice guys. Hey, I even dated a sorority girl once, although we dated before she pledged so that only half counts. I guess what I’m saying is that as you get older, you realize the world is just not so black and white. And like David Foster Wallace says, you start to give people the benefit of the doubt more. Or you just watch a lot of FOX News and get super angry. But yes, I chose the calmer path. So sorry frat friends and beer pongers if I offended you. I can see how this game could be fun, I guess. I just sort of hate it personally. But hey, to each his own. Except in my comics.

2 responses to “Pong Masters

  1. OK, reveal-your-ignorance time here…what exactly is beer pong? From your descriptions and art, it seems like you bounce ping-pong balls toward full cups of beer and, if it lands in one, you chug it (the beer, not the ball).

    Is that correct? Because if it is, you’re right, it’s pretty disgusting.

Leave a Reply

