Advantage

I’ve been on vacation for the last two weeks — coincidentally during both the RNC and DNC. That was pretty good timing, because I got to avoid a lot of the stress and anxiety brought on by these events (I avoided the RNC hatefest completely, but I did watch some of the DNC). But still, this scary election has been on my mind and I’ve really been pondering how to cover it through my comics. And this new Dustinland strip is my latest attempt.

EVERYONE is talking about this election, and that makes it hard to say something original about it. But through a lot of writing, I eventually came to this metaphor. Maybe it’s been said before, but I haven’t seen it if it has. And I do think it’s an honest metaphor. Of course all politicians can been seen as taking advantage of people’s emotions to further their own careers. But the Donald takes it to a new level. Just look at what the ghostwriter of his book said about him. This is a guy so out for himself, the only way he’s ever going to do something that benefits anyone else is if it’s by accident. And I know Hillary isn’t perfect. Frankly she worries me in many ways. But there’s really no comparison. I may disagree with her on some issues. I may not be a huge fan of her abilities as an orator. But it’s actually silly to even be debating who would make a better president, her or Trump. Because while there may be doubts as to who she really is, you know who he is. He’s that sketchy guy out to take advantage of you when you’re at your weakest. And if we let him, this country just might wind up permanently fucked.

2 responses to “Advantage

  1. You are correct but don’t quite go far enough IMO. Trump isn’t just trying to take advantage of us when we’re at our weakest; he’s actively trying to weaken us by lying hysterically about Mexicans, Muslims, the Chinese, etc.

    But yes, it makes me crazy when people go “Trump is terrible but I can’t stand Hillary either.” How can you possibly consider them equal in any way, either positive or negative?

    • I think many people just have a very basic understanding of politics and judge candidates on personality and the few headlines they see online and in the news as opposed to actual experience and policy. On the positive side, Trump’s popularity is a good signal to traditional politicians that the old way of doing things (working for lobbyists more than the citizenry) isn’t going to work anymore. On the negative side, he could destroy the nation, so there’s that.

Leave a Reply

