Happiness

I could go on and on about the subject of this week’s Dustinland comic. After all, happiness, that’s a big issue. In some ways it’s THE issue. But I just spent an hour and a half on the subway due to signal problems, and then another 30 minutes on hold for customer support after I couldn’t sign into my server to up date the site. So now I’m grumpy! Oh the irony!

I do think there’s something to the eastern approach though. Simple pleasures. Low expectations. That’s the way to go. Then you are easily appeased, rarely disappointed and occasionally pleasantly surprised. Easier said than done of course. And that whole meditation thing, man that’s hard! And time consuming. It probably works but it’s hard to get around to it. And even 15 minutes of sitting in silence feels like 60 minutes, so it’s not something I look forward to. Probably just something to suck up and get over. I think it’s proven meditation is good for your health. Eh, I’ll put it on the new years resolution list, just like I did last year.

If I had the energy, I’d go into the whole first world problems, it’s all relative thing here, but I won’t because I don’t feel like it. Actually, ending this post now makes me happy, so there you go.

6 responses to “Happiness

  1. I’ve started meditation so many times. Only been able to keep it up for a month tops, though. It does make you calmer, but after you drop it for a few days you’ll easily forget about it/won’t bother with it anymore. Very similiar to going to the gym (I’d guess, never tried to do that consistently)

    • I tried last year for a while but it’s easy to get out of the habit. The gym is a perfect comparison. You start going every day. Then you miss a day one week. Two the next. After a few months you’ve stopped completely.

  2. Weird thing about myself I’ve never told anyone: Often I like to eat while reading about accounts of hunger, famine, food insecurity, etc. Somehow it makes me appreciate the food more to know how much the people I’m reading about would have treasured it.

  3. Extremely short stories.

Leave a Reply

