Day Of The Dad

This week’s Dustinland was created in advance of Father’s Day. I could have released it on the actual day, but hey, this is Father’s Day, and I’m a father, so I get to do it my way this time. Really though, there is too much of a silly nature to Father’s Day, I think. Mother’s Day is heartfelt and meaningful. What are we doing for mom? Oh mom, there’s only one mom. Etc… Then Father’s Day comes around and it’s like, hey fatso, here’s a hot dog and a tie. It’s just a different vibe, and I think dads deserve better.

I love being a dad. But it’s hard (yes being a mom is hard too, but we’re not talking about that now). I don’t want to reiterate what I said in the comic, but.. well, here’s a quick story. I have these two dad friends. We had plans to hang out tonight after work. Last minute, ALL THREE OF US had to cancel. That’s #dadlife. Dads, you know what I mean. We live for a happy family. Beyond that, it’s the little things. Cliche, maybe. But cliches exist for a reason.

Dad on, dads. Dad on.

4 responses to “Day Of The Dad

  1. The word dad lost all meaning in my head in the end there. It’s funny when words do that.

    Maybe father’s/mother’s day still has that gender role thing going for them. Like what, you need to feel appreciated now? Have a beer and go make money.

  2. Bitter Scribe

    No snark, just compliment: Great comic.

    • Thanks man. I’ve been thinking of this one for months. I would have made it longer actually, but I didn’t have time. Too busy being a dad. Oh the irony.

Leave a Reply

