How To Nurture Your Creativity

This week’s Dustinland comic is about nurturing your creativity. That means giving it love and helping it mature and develop. This is not about “making it.” It’s not about success or any of that. It’s about having something you enjoy, a creative form of expression, and figuring out how to give it the time and attention it deserves despite your busy life.

I know as well as most people do, that between work and family, once you have a few free minutes to yourself, it’s hard to use that time to be productive and artistic. Play music? Write? Draw? How about Netflix. But if you care—and a lot of people do—you have to try. That’s why I drew this week’s comic. It’s for all the people out there who have asked me how I do it. Week in, week out. 15 years. I draw comics. Why? I don’t even know anymore. It’s gotten to the point where it’s just part of my life. A part I couldn’t imagine leaving behind. You don’t have to be as devoted as I am, but if you enjoy photography, go take pictures. If you like to sew, go sew. It doesn’t have to be every day. But it has to become a routine. Otherwise all the distractions of modern life will eat away the few minutes of free time you have and one day you’ll wake up and the decades will have gone by and you’ll wonder why you stopped  _______.

2 responses to “How To Nurture Your Creativity

  1. The closest I ever came to the kind of creative endeavor you describe was writing a weekly newspaper column. OK, it wasn’t that close, but I could still relate to this comic

    Especially Panel 5. Someone wiser than me once said something like, What do you do when you’ve written a mediocre column? Submit it and hope to do better next time.

  2. Awesome! I love the birdy cameo!

Leave a Reply

