Routine Bedtime

At first I had titled this week’s Dustinland comic “Bedtime Routine,” but then I swapped the order. Why? Because any parent knows that this isn’t just the bedtime routine of one particular child. It’s routine bedtime for parents around the world. Well, I mean, I don’t know if it goes down this way in the slums of India, but lets just say I can only assume it happens in households as “privileged” as mine. Hey, kids don’t like sleeping. They like playing. So any way they can extend awake time, they’ll do it. It’s pretty amazing the tactics they’ll come up with. Ad you really do notice it most when you have a babysitter over and you start explaining the whole routine and you realize how ridiculous it all is.

By the way, I just finished doing this with mine. We start the bedtime process around 8:00 and I swear, by the time it’s over, it’s 8:45. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

