Muskles

If you read this week’s Dustinland comic about working out, lifting, exercising and what not, you might think I’m jealous of dudes who are really ripped. And in some ways I am. Frankly, I’m torn on the whole thing. 

Now, I definitely think it’s a bit weird when dudes get completely jacked and enormous and spend half their time drinking protein shakes and popping weird pill packs. But I wouldn’t mind being just a regular type of muscley dude. There was a brief time when I was working out quite frequently and I started to actually grow pectoral muscles and I was really enjoying that. And really, the best part of working out is the way you feel afterwards. Happier. More energized. It’s good stuff. 

On the other hand, who has the time? Man, I’m a dad. I barely have time to draw this comic once a week. Now I’m supposed to work out every other day? The only parents I know who seem to pull this off have to wake up at 5:00 am and work out before work. I just don’t think I could do that. Maybe if I lived in the woods and could go for a run through nature I’d be more inspired. City work outs just aren’t the same. 

It’s also that people are so obsessed with their bodies once they get all buff. I mean, it’s nice and all but really, who cares? What could be less original of an achievement than getting in shape? Maybe if you’re obese and you turn all skinny and toned, okay, sure, you have the right to be proud of yourself. But everyone else, big deal. Yes, lift heavy things and run around and don’t eat cupcakes all day and MAGIC you are in shape. I realize it takes motivation and self control but ultimately, who cares. 

In the end, I do want to start working out again, simply because it can’t be good to never exercise for the rest of my life. Meh. That’s the sound of getting older right there. Meh. 

2 responses to “Muskles

  1. I’ve been lifting weights since I was about 14. I’m not what you’d call ripped, but I do have a bit of muscle to show for it. I don’t go looking for fights (quite the opposite) but it comes in handy with things like changing a tire.

Leave a Reply

