Baby, No One Cares

This week’s comic was inspired by a recent night out with a friend of mine. We hadn’t hung out in a while, so we met, grabbed a beer, hit up a metal show (Kvelertak), then ate Philly cheesesteaks. At various moments throughout the evening, I mentioned brief details of my 14-month-old son. I found these little anecdotes and descriptions amusing. My friend… well it was like I was speaking to him in some strange foreign hypnotizing language… his eyes would glaze over, he would stare vaguely at some imaginary spot in front of him, and would mumble a few words of acknowledgement. When I would stop talking about babies, he would snap out of it and go back to normal.

The thing is, taking your kid on a wagon ride around the block can be truly amazing. But when you tell other people about it, it sounds pretty dull. Especially if they don’t have their own kids. There’s really no way around it. So then you’re faced with the question, do I bore my friends or do I just not ever talk about my kid? I think this is why a lot of dads seem like they don’t care or aren’t involved. They quickly learn no one cares, so they stop talking about it. Maybe I’ll go that way one day. Who knows.

7 responses to “Baby, No One Cares

  1. i get it. your son is growing up, learning, becoming independent step by step. it’s really exciting. esp. as compared to the other end of the spectrum – aging parents becoming less independent due to dementia & disease. enjoy it ! relish it ! and to those who don’t get it – well they haven’t been enlightened yet.

  2. I agree with Chris! The truth of the matter is that most conversations that most humans have are about whatever is going on in their lives or whatever interests them. When you are a parent, your life (justifiably) centers around your kid. True friends should be as interested to hear about that, within reason, as any other interest you might talk about.

  3. I think most people pretend to be interested out of politeness, but that’s different than actually being interested. But it’s okay, I don’t blame them. When I was single and not close to even thinking about having kids, I was interested in the overall concept of parenthood as this amazingly far off impossible crazy thing, but I doubt I would have wanted to hear about how some kid drank from a cup on his own for the first time. I think it’s just the way life goes—parenthood is something you can only truly understand once you do it.

    • I sadly would agree on the “politeness” but as cynical as I am I still hold out hope that many more will get in touch with things like your son drinking on his own, as it is those things that make life important & add meaning. and your last point isn’t completely true – i have no children and I am conscious enough to appreciate a child’s first “whatever”, but maybe it hits me more strongly because of my life experiences.

    • Even people with kids of their own don’t want to hear about your kid.

      • Do you me “your” as in “Dustin Glick’s” or are you just saying that in general for everyone? Either way, you’re right.

  4. Hey Dustin! As a non-kid-haver, I just wanted to chime in and say that I think parents’ stories about their kids are often pretty interesting. Especially if those people are my friends. I think there are a lot of stereotypes about how awful and boring it is when your friends start having kids, and so people jump to “boring!” in their heads without really listening. Or, they’re just self-absorbed and can’t be bothered to get interested in somebody else’s life.

    Sometimes people say “oh you can’t be interested until you have kids of your own”, but I don’t buy that. I’m not a chef, for example, but if my friend is a chef, I can use my listening skills and imagination to get interested in what they do.

Leave a Reply

