Going Paleo

In terms of this comic about the paleo diet, you know, I mean, it could be a good thing. It could be right, it could be healthier, it could make a lot of sense. But man, as a person who has lived life and taken much joy out of eating many things, I have to draw the line somewhere. I go along with the whole Michael Pollan thing—eat food, not “food-like objects” aka processed concoctions made of chemicals in a factory. I realize eating carbs all the time may not be great for you. And I think we should all eat less meat, if only for the sake of the planet ala global warming via methane from livestock as well as deforestation. I get all that. But to only eat meat, nuts, veggies and fruits, forever? That is the strictest, least fun diet ever.

Hey, drinking isn’t good for you (well, maybe a glass of wine or so a day) and I do that from time to time. Why? Because I’m alive and it’s fun. And that’s why I eat tacos and pancakes too.

Leave a Reply

