Offal Space

“Offal is a culinary term used to refer to the entrails and internal organs of a butchered animal.”

So that’s where the title for this week’s Dustinland comes from. Sure, I wasn’t talking about animal bowels but rather human bowels, but still, you get the point. I was working on a pun. The Daily Show would have gotten away with it for sure.

In terms of the content of my comic, the girl in question is actually quite nice and I hope she never reads this. However, it is a bit inappropriate to talk about burritos and pooping at a loud volume in an open office environment full of many, many people, especially when you don’t even know the person you’re talking to. But I actually do enjoy it a bit, in a weird way. It’s just so funny and bizarre and unreal. And I like watching the dude next to me try to stifle his laughs.

Man, you just can’t beat real life for weird stuff.

12 responses to “Offal Space

  1. That’s awesome. But I really came to the blog area to tell you I found Birdy especially funny this week.

  2. Thanks Jackie! Yeah the little blue bird just keeps puttering along now after more than 1400 strips. Some people still don’t get it. It’s a love/hate thing.

    • I wish I was at pipe dream the same time as you. All I had was a stack of leftover copies of the dustinland anthology in the pd office.

      • That sounds weird. 😦

      • Yeah it was good times in the Pipe Dream office back in the day. I remember when I got caught drinking a 40 by a ULED officer but he was cool about it. These two girls I know also secretly filled the little back room with about two feet of packing peanuts. That was fun. What did you do for the paper? Fun page? Writer? Editor?

  3. LOL (guy really didn’t flush? :^0). And gross. Why do people need to spoke about their freakin’ diggestion? :S In any case, you’ re not the only one to hear those kind of stories 😐

  4. You can always count on a poop gag. Sex gags, sexist gags, fat bloke gags, etc get boring after a while but never poop gags, it’s the one thing that brings us all together. Poop gags are pretty sticky.

    It’s probably a set up though, between the guy and woman to see how far they can push you.

  5. In frame 5 are you doing Birdy at work? tut tut

  6. Bitter Scribe

    One of these days I’ll learn not to read this comic during lunch.

  7. You wait till lunch to read Dustinland, my god how do you do that.

  8. Bitter Scribe

    Tom: Easy. After years of working from home, I now work in an office with a very open cubicle.

    • that sucks Bitter Scribe no wonder you are bitter. Here’s a little tip. In an office environment take up the role of making tea and coffee for everyone, it makes you look kind and humble, especially if you are the boss. However every now and then e-mail round a story about peoples food or drinks being spat in at restaurants etc. People will never upset you now they are worried about having their tea spat in. Mwuhhaha.

      I really couldn’t do without my mid morning Dustin and Pr0n fix, though sometimes they can mixed up.

Leave a Reply

