Everything Is Better Outdoors

This week’s Dustinland is based on what I think is a pretty interesting truth: when you do something mundane outside, it suddenly becomes “doing something.” Take reading a book. You read a book on your couch, big deal. But you spend a Saturday afternoon reading a book outside in your backyard, and man, now that’s a good day. I could probably launch into some sort of nature writing thing here but I just did laundry and I don’t feel like it right now. But you get the point: mankind is tied to nature, we like to be outside, it’s special, it’s nice on a nice day, it can make the most lame thing seem fun and cool, blah blah blah trees and birds are nice.

7 responses to “Everything Is Better Outdoors

  1. I love nature, I didn’t get out of my moms basement much so I used to watch a lot of nature tv. However this would get me really angry seeing what humans who do get out a lot are doing to nature (as these tv shows are always trying to teach us something, will stick to dumb internet comics in the future) I would then have an angry play with myself to relieve the tension, which I couldn’t do in the basement cos ma might catch me, so I tried it outside and yeah Dustin you are right, it’s much better outside.

  2. Nice. I was watching “No Reservations with Anthony Bourdain” the other day and he was eating crappy fried fish on a beach in Jamaica and he was all like “this meal is sooo good because I am eating it while barefoot and on a beach in Jamaica. This same meal in a restaurant in a city, indoors? Awful.”

  3. He was eating fried crappie? I didn’t even know you could eat those things.

  4. “crappy fried fish” like “shitty lame comment by Bitter Scribe.”

    not:

    “fried crappie fish”

  5. internet name take your nazi grammar fascism etc etc elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

