It Ain’t Over Til You’re Over (Each Other)

Yeah. Breaking up. Like I say in this week’s Dustinland, it sucks. We’ve all done it. Unless of course you’ve never dated anyone or you married the first person you dated: two situations which also deserve their own comics. But I guess this isn’t really about breaking up, a subject I’ve covered before. It’s about that period before you break up, or toward the end where it’s inevitable and everyone but you is just like, man, get it over with already. It’s just the worst for everyone involved when it drags on and on. So much time is wasted. But at the time it feels like the right thing to do because you’re honestly trying to save something that was at one time really great. Bummer.

5 responses to “It Ain’t Over Til You’re Over (Each Other)

  1. Ouch, did this ring painfully true! I was married for eleven years, which was at least seven years too long, and we couldn’t bring ourselves to break up for the very reasons you mention (along with some others that were all our own).

    Love’s a (non-gendered) bitch.

  2. I think the sad truth is that you can be really happy with someone but still not be ultimately right for each other for the long haul.

  3. Some guy over the weekend explained how he was “comfortable” with his ex-gf of 12 years, but not in love with her. He didn’t love her either, for those who differentiate between loving someone and being in love with someone. He stayed because it was comfortable, but when he realized he didn’t love her, he stopped by her place to dump her while he was on the way to his buddy’s house to watch a football game. Classy.

    I don’t think I’ve ever loved anyone, other than my dog and a stray cat that lives under the stairs of my apt building.

  4. Oh yes, and the onset of the Christmas season reminds of the “Dear Santa, I don’t need your charity” Birdy comic. So funny, and the subtleties reflect a lot, including the narrowing of Birdy’s eyes. Not to sound weird, but your comics are not only funny, they’re mini studies of physiology and the human experience, by that I mean subtle changes in the character’s features reflect the dialogue or what has transpired, such detail is often missing in most of the mainstream comics in newspapers’ “funny pages.” I’m not enough of a nerd to read comic books, but I’m sure they offer better quality than what’s in the newspaper, and I guess that’s a better point of comparison to your comics.

  5. Thanks Anonymous! I really appreciate that. Most people look at my comics and think that Dustinland is the smarter one and Birdy is the stupid one. But really, there’s a lot more going on in Birdy than a lot of people think. You just have to look at it as a whole often times, rather than each individual strip. So thanks again. I would put up a link to that Birdy strip but since I set up the archives in such a stupid way, I have no idea what number Birdy that is.

Leave a Reply

