To Dump or To Be Dumped

Every time I do a comic with any kind of breaking up theme, people ask me “Oh no dude, did you break up with your wife.” So let me just start by saying that no, this week’s Dustinland is not about me breaking up with my wife. We are quite happy. I did however find an old notebook full of unused comic ideas and this one was in there, clearly let over from my days living the single life, dating and what not.

In terms of the comic’s subject matter, well, it’s not that cut and dry obviously. Sometimes people get dumped and it just ruins them completely, so in that case, it’s probably worse to be on the receiving end. But think about it in terms of the average long term outlook. If you get dumped, you eventually get over it and move on with your life, find someone else, and then just kinda look back at that relationship as just another part of your life. If you dump someone, there is that possibility that you will wind up regretting it for the rest of your life. But nobody ever really looks back and says, “Hey I really regret getting ruthlessly dumped. Boy, I blew it that time.” You know, because it’s not your fault.

Okay, I don’t know what I’m talking about. Ignore all the above.

One thing I can tell you for sure is that I played pitch and putt golf this weekend and saw four deer. Maybe I should have done a comic about that.

6 responses to “To Dump or To Be Dumped

  1. Bitter Scribe

    The perfect dump was one I read about in a recent New Yorker. This guy was tired of his wife but felt guilty about the prospect of dumping her. One night, while he lay beside her in bed thinking how miserable his situation was, she turned to him and told him how sick she was of him and she was leaving. He immediately started weeping for sheer joy. While she said, “Now, don’t try to emotionally manipulate me into staying by crying,” he wondered whether there was still time to put her onto the night’s last train out of their village.

    Oh, and the thing about that story: It was fiction.

  2. I prescribe to the theory that you, generally, regret the moves that you don’t make much more than the ones that you do. Too many relationships carry out like the short story above, but without the happy ending. You know: two miserable people staying in an unsatisfying relationship, each one afraid to make a move and hurt the others feelings.
    Look, I’ve dumped and been dumped and they both suck; however, it sucks a hell of a lot more to stay with somebody just to keep up appearances.

  3. Oh, no dude! Did you break up with your wife?

  4. No (although I can see how you thought that), just being philosophical. For the record, I’ve never been married.

  5. Birdy’s sweatband is so cute. I just realized that due to his proportions, he cannot do a roundhouse kick, but can put an eye out with that beak.

  6. IT’S HOLLYWOOD’s FAULT!!

Leave a Reply

