Thirty Something

I’m sure my “more mature” readers will scoff at this week’s Dustinland, but I think all you Gen Xers and possibly even Gen Yers out there know what I’m talking about. Yup, getting older. For me it’s really the little injuries that make me feel like I’m not a kid anymore. It seems like every time I play sports or run or do anything, there’s always something wrong. Even if it’s not a big deal, there’s some stupid weird little thing that doesn’t feel right. Man, back in the day I was invincible. I used to jump over five barrels in rollerblades (before they were known as “fruit boots”), wreck myself, then get up without so much as a scratch and try it again.

The not caring thing is big too. You know, I do care, I really do, about a lot. I lay in bed stressing out over Peak Oil. You know, so I care. But I care in a different way. I’m just starting to accept things. I just look at the world and, well, how many times can you see people reacting in the same stupid ways before you just give up and say, “Fuck it. People are dumb. We’re doomed. I’m gonna go have me some scotch.”

10 responses to “Thirty Something

  1. Man can I relate to that. I’m turning thirty this year (okay, in less than a month) and I feel that way all the time… the injuries part and the not caring part… and I feel more crotchety and gripy about the world… sad sad sad…

  2. I know the feeling. Don’t accept anything though! Try to change it.

  3. Miss that passion for doing stuff of the younger years.

    Now, meh.

  4. Ha! Wait’ll you’re being supervised by someone younger.

  5. harumph.

    I just turned 30 last Tuesday, and yesterday I was a buying a six pack and the cashier though i was 19, 20 at most. It made my day 🙂

    But yeah, I hear you on the not caring part. I realize that by now, I’ve seen it all and life is fairly predictable, and I have a lower tolerance for bullshit and arrogant people.

    Maybe the injuries are stress related. When I was stressed out a while ago, I kept getting hurt, now that I’m more relaxed, I am amazed at what I can do. Hope you didn’t injure anything drawing the comic!

  6. Wow. That was really f***ing depressing. Glad I’m not an old geezer like you.

  7. I may be a geezer too, but at least I’m not chinese. I like to look on the bright side.

  8. I used to visit Binghamton with friends once a year after graduation. We used to blend in. Then one year, everyone who saw us asked: “Did you guys go to school here when you were younger?”

    We haevn’t been back since.

  9. I must be the only Dustin Fan who’ll be blowing out 79 candles next month. You “30-Somethingers” are just BEGINNERS at this game of aches & pains, tolerating our world of unthinking people, and the “Who cares?” philosophy that I too have adopted with great proficiency. Oh, don’t get me wrong . . . there are still many wonderous things to explore and enjoy . . . and for what it’s worth . . . it’s kinda nice to stop worrying about all the shit. If only I could do it! So much for a few words of nonsense from an old Grandma!

  10. Nana Rose, I’m so bummed out about the future, I’ll just be happy if we’re not all living in huts by the time I’m 79.

Leave a Reply

