Open Orifice

So this open office seating thing isn’t as bad as I thought it would be, although my office is not quite as open as the one pictured in this week’s comic. I can see the reasoning behind it. You’re certainly not going to sit around playing Snood all day when everyone who walks by can see your computer. It can be a little weird though when everyone has their headphones on and it’s kinda quiet, even though you’re in a room full of people. I guess it’s like being in college and studying at the library (I wouldn’t know about that since I was an art/philosophy double major and I spent my time either drawing or thinking about stuff or thinking about the stuff I just drew). I think the biggest negative is obvious— the paranoia that sets in every time you do something not related to work. Like the other day when Google had its Pacman thing up. How can you not play at least once? It was just too fun. I played, but not with the joyful, carefree feeling that should come from a game of Pacman. I played like a 13-year-old who isn’t allowed to play video games when his parents aren’t home, but sneaks some gaming in every day and quickly packs it away before mom and dad come home.

But anyway, yeah, it’s tough when you’ve got the farts.

5 responses to “Open Orifice

  1. good one. it’s kind of like what we have at work. well, we each have our own L-shaped desk now, but no cubicle walls. In any case, we play Pac-Man on Google like it’s part of our job, b/c it almost kinda is. :oP
    And you know what, cubicle walls don’t keep the farts in, at least not when you work with certain people.
    maybe once you’ve been there awhile you’ll feel more free to play games (to help you think) and fart openly (same reason).

  2. “Fart openly.” I like the way that sounds. I mean, not the sound of farting openly. The sound of those particular words together.

  3. Richard A Sellers

    yeah, the pacman game that Google had was awesome while it lasted.

  4. Bitter Scribe

    I remember touring the brand-new offices of a major packaging supplier company during an open house. It was a major event, great food, a string quartet, etc.

    Anyway, they had one of these “open desk” environments and were very proud of it. The people giving the tours were, anyway. When you started talking to the people who would actually be expected to work there, it took about two minutes for them to begin muttering about it.

  5. AIG Financial Products has an open office… no good can come of it.

Leave a Reply

