Sky Maul

Every product mocked in this week’s Dustinland is a real product featured in a recent issue of Sky Mall magazine. A few weeks ago I was on a flight and decided to flip through Sky Mall out of boredom. Upon seeing some of these ridiculous products I was inspired to draw a comic on the spot, which is kind of weird to do in public because people glance over at you and assume you’re some creepy loser (which is not true in my case, since I’m just a regular loser, not a creepy one). That’s why I make sure to wear a T-shirt that says, “I’m a professional cartoonist for MAD Magazine.” Then people take me seriously. They usually come up to me and say, “Wow, MAD is still around? I used to read that when I was 14. Remember those things in the back? The fold-ins? Those were awesome. I hated everything else. And I hate you. And why aren’t you wearing any pants?” But yeah, Sky Mall magazine sure has some crazy stuff in there.

5 responses to “Sky Maul

  1. Gotta love Blue Man Group. One of my fondest childhood memories is getting pulled on stage during their show for that bit where they tie drum sticks to your ears and yank them to make noise. I thought I must have looked like Spock after that.

  2. “I”m afraid I just blue myself.”

  3. The real Ben Bart

    Oh man. MAD is still around? I used to read that when I was 13. Crazy. I liked black and white, do you draw black and white? No? That’s why I hate you. Here are some pants.

  4. in random response to another comic: no girls think about how to hug without touching the other person. unless they actually really like each other. then their shoulders might touch. and if they genuinley like someone(10-15 percent tops of a typical social circle…usually less..) they might touch. so no. not really. unless one persons boobs are like SMOTHERING the other person. then its hard not to be like ok step back now plz ty.

Leave a Reply

