The Same Story

This week’s Dustinland isn’t about a story that’s repeated over and over again (although it is). It’s about a story about how people like to vote for whatever is the same. The same sex, race, religion, whatever. Forget the issues. Forget where they stand on the economy, foreign policy, blah blah blah. All that matters is if they’re just like me in the most shallow ways possible. Heck, I don’t care if they know how to run the government, as long as they seem like they’d be fun to have a beer with, that’s good enough for me.

To prove my point, remember how they were saying 100 million people would watch the debate last week? Only 50 million tuned in. What about the rest of America? Too busy watching UFC?

3 responses to “The Same Story

  1. I’m totally into the pelican in the wheelchair.

    So much so, that I actually did a Google search for pelican, wheelchair. I just can’t get enough.

  2. This reads just like my country India (there even I did it) where the whole politics is so blatantly identity driven (caste, religion, region, language…) that we hardly even talk about it now, it’s taken for granted. In fact, the irony is that the only people who actually talk about real issues (read: the “Great Indian” middle class) hardly vote themselves.

  3. This reads just like my country India (there even I did it) where the whole politics is so blatantly identity driven (caste, religion, region, language…) that we hardly even talk about it now, it’s taken for granted. In fact, the irony is that the only people who actually talk about real issues (read: the “Great Indian” middle class) hardly vote themselves.

Leave a Reply

